The Dead Tongues - Dust (Digital)


Dust is the fifth album from The Dead Tongues, the project of Western North Carolina-based songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Ryan Gustafson. Gustafson recorded Dust in nine days, the fastest he’d ever recorded anything. It was the fastest he’d ever written anything. The record was recorded at Sylvan Esso’s studio, Betty’s, in the woods of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He built it out with help from a number of his musician friends - Joe Westerlund (Watchhouse, Megafaun, Califone) on drums, Andrew Marlin (Watchhouse) on mandolin, backing vocals from Alexandra Sauser-Monnig and Molly Sarlé of Mountain Man, among others.

Dust is meant to be listened to while taking a night drive, farflung and roving and existential. Somewhere between the expansiveness of American jamband and the banjo-centric folk songwriting of Gustafson’s Appalachia home. Gustafson explains the thematic throughline succinctly: “It’s this idea of uprooting and rebirth and cycles, and the past informing the future, and the future informing the past. There is no single story. Everything is connected.”

Release Date: 4/1/2022
Record Label: Psychic Hotline
Format: Digital Download

1. Pawnshop Dollar Bills
2. Dust
3. Garden Song
4. Through the Glass
5. Little Lies
6. Colorful Crosses
7. Ticket
8. James St.
9. Sweet Relief

Cover Art Designed By: Will Hackney

Orders from this store are not limited by territory. Orders shipped outside the US may be subject to import duties and/or taxes
and are the sole responsibility of the customer. All orders are transacted in United States Dollars (USD) and you may be
charged a small currency conversion fee by your bank. For more information, please visit